Author Topic: MF's Training Entries  (Read 1520 times)

Offline Move_Forte18

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
  • Gettin' better errrday
    • View Profile
MF's Training Entries
« on: March 23, 2016, 09:31:36 AM »
Suhhh, dudes? Name's Remy a.k.a Move. Live in Michigan, I've been training for about 3 years now, but have gotten serious about it only recently. Backstory on how I got into PK/FR (warning: it's probably gonna be long af). I think I kinda owe it to my older brother (we'll call him T). Back in 2011, when I was 14, T got his hands on this cool-looking game (you're gonna cringe) called Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Yeah, I liked the game a lot. But the part that I liked the MOST about it was the cool ninja stuff in the game they called "free-running". I always thought it was cool to see them jump gaps and run up the walls. I think T showed me some videos of people doing the same thing the assassins were doing, and it was called "parkour". I was absolutely floored that it was a real thing and so many people actually practiced it, and I searched for a parkour gym right away. There was one nearby in Livonia, called Freedom Freerunning Academy (closed down, but re-opened as Phoenix Freerunning Academy), and it held classes and open gyms and such. I went there for my 15th birthday on August 26, 2012 (super significant date to me) for a beginner's class, and it was extra cringey now that I look back on it. Even though I was a beginner, I was so awful. I had no balance for pre's, I literally SMACKED into a wall on a wall run attempt, and I was wearing Converse and regular jeans. But I had a lot of fun, and I practiced on my own for a while. I've been involved in the community, made a ton of amazing memories and friends, and been on a path towards self-improvement ever since.

TL;DR: Older brother introduced me to AC: Brotherhood, took a beginner class on my 15th bday, been practicing since then and have made a ton of friends and good experiences along the way.