Author Topic: Gyms in DC area?  (Read 2486 times)

Offline fbitomboy007

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Gyms in DC area?
« on: September 20, 2014, 02:46:51 PM »
Hi all,

I'm new to parkour and the DC area. I've been looking into local gyms and am thinking about Urban Evolution in Alexandria or Primal Fitness in DC. Anyone been to either or have suggestions?

Thanks!

Offline Pseudoninja

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Re: Gyms in DC area?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2014, 07:26:05 AM »
Welcome to the neighborhood!  I've been a monthly member at Urban Evolution in Alexandria for about three months now.  I'd never done parkour before going to UE.  I absolutely love it.  Here are my thoughts and opinions on UE. Disclaimer:  I don't know how to compare it to other gyms in the area since I haven't been to Primal Fitness or any other parkour gyms. 

Price:  On the surface, it can look a bit pricey.  However, if you plan on taking it seriously, they offer a flat monthly fee ($140 per month) that will give you the ability to go to as many classes as you want for the month.  They also provide a buddy discount if you get a friend to sign up at the same time.  Doing the math, I go four or five days a week, usually for two classes each visit. With the buddy discount, that breaks down to around $3 per hour.  Most don't go that often, and I admit, starting in pretty good shape that pace still leaves me exhausted many weeks.  Still, it's not hard to get your money's worth.