Author Topic: Dick's training log  (Read 30001 times)

Offline Dick Stapleton

• Hirundo Rustica
    • View Profile
Dick's training log
« on: February 15, 2013, 02:32:00 PM »
Intro:
So I've been training on and off for a few years now, but for the vast majority of that time I was painfully uneducated about exercise in general. I don't really consider much of what I've done in the past as training as I lacked everything from technique to goals to progress. For a while now I've been reading, researching, and learning. I took a break for about 2 months because I was feeling depressed and didn't really care to train anymore. I was working out maybe once every 2 weeks, and went to an open gym a few times but aside from that was back to being sedentary. I gained about 30 pounds over that time, but that doesn't bother me much. I'm finally motivated to start training again and I couldn't be happier.
I'm creating this log in the hope that it will push me to stay dedicated to my training and also to make sure that I actually progress. I plan to include my workouts and general training for my own reflection, and I welcome any support, thoughts, or criticism.

Current stats:
Age-18
Height-5'10-5'11
Weight-190 pounds

Goals:

Long term goals. These are things I hope to accomplish by the end of 2013. I don't know if I'll be able to reach all of them, but it's good to have something to reach for.

Broad jump 10 feet
Deadlift 2x my bodyweight (around 190 right now)
10 consecutive muscle ups
Weighted pull up with 100 pounds x3
10 one handed pushups on both sides with good form
Full front lever 5 seconds
Full planche 5 seconds
Free standing handstand 30 seconds

Short term goals. These are things I hope to achieve within a few months, and will change as time goes by.

Deadlift 300 pounds (maxed at 235 on Monday)
Start squatting-I'm worried about hurting myself with these. I want to find someone who can teach me or at least spot my form before getting into weighted squats.