Author Topic: How to avoid being harassed while training  (Read 3691 times)

Offline akarynn

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
How to avoid being harassed while training
« on: August 23, 2011, 02:51:27 PM »
I'm new to parkour and this forum, but as a female practitioner I wanted to share some tips learned from my experiences. I know many safety posts deal with injury prevention, but I think this is a crucial part of safety that hasn't been discussed yet. I hope none of my fellow female practitioners have been bothered during training, but I hope some of this sticks in your mind in case this ever happens to you.

Though it is very important to be focused on your movement while training, it is imperative to pay attention to your surroundings. Since I'm posting this on the women section, it's gonna sound female-centric. If there are any guys at there, I imagine any of the information below could apply to you as well.

My favorite spot to practice rail balancing is located along a busy high street near the tube station. People are walking by all hours of the day and it's right next to a major road, so the attention I receive is not limited to pedestrians, but drivers and their passengers as well. Most of the attention is harmless, genuine interest in what I'm doing. Kids will try and get as close to the rail as possible until their mothers pull them back. [Non practitioner] guys will jump into the rail and try to impress me, but then fail miserably ;)

Every once in a while, someone strolls by and says a crude comment. Usually I'll either ignore them or utter very sternly, “I'm not interested.” Most of it will end at that.