Author Topic: Shoes?  (Read 13569 times)

Offline Jason Todrick

• Mangabey
    • View Profile
    • Freerunner Mag
Re: Shoes?
« Reply #40 on: May 21, 2007, 11:02:21 PM »
jason, how much do the guide tennies and savants weigh?

don't know off the top of my head... i'll be out of the office tuesday, but will get exact weights for you on wednesday
Formerly: Jason@FiveTen

Not all who wander are lost...

Offline Jason Todrick

• Mangabey
    • View Profile
    • Freerunner Mag
« Reply #41 on: May 21, 2007, 11:09:58 PM »
I'm grooving on the 5 10's. As I progress in parkour I'd like to give them a try. Jason, I know nothing about climbing shoes, so I'm not sure what is "important" to a climbing shoe besides grip. I suspect stability/ankle support is a biggie too. How important is foot articulation? And looking at 5 10's line of shoes marketed for parkour/freerunning, what do these shoes offer compared to the shoes used for climbing exclusively? Understand, I have no background in climbing at all so you're addressing a total novice.

The reason I ask is that I used to be a fitter for Bloch pointe shoes, and I worked a little bit with one of their product developers on a little R&D. Taking that knowledge, I'm trying to apply it to what little I know about parkour, to see if dance sneakers might be a viable option for PK. Or if somehow the dance sneaker could be "cross-bred" with a climbing shoe? I'm toying with the idea of trying parkour in these, but there are a ton of different types of dance sneakers out there. If you're interested, or if 5 10 might be interested, feel free to check out the dance sneakers at www.discountdance.com to get a nice broad cross-section. Just a thought.

Mostly I'm just trying to get my head around the whole shoe thing for parkour, as it seems to be a hot subject among traceurs. :) Thanks in advance for your help. :)