Author Topic: Beginner  (Read 2217 times)

Offline Rahontsiiostha

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
Beginner
« on: December 19, 2009, 01:28:05 PM »
Hello all,
  I am a student at American University in the DC-metro area and have become interested in Parkour. wondering if there is any advice you could give me as far as training or finding groups to train with? Also, I am a pretty short guy (5' 6), is that an issue or should I be ok?

Thanks

Offline Pilou

• Patas
    • View Profile
Re: Beginner
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2009, 02:04:11 PM »
Hi! Welcome to the DC area, there's a lot of stuff going on around here :)

A few good things to know:
- most of the Parkour gatherings are advertised on the DC metro Parkour (dcmetroparkour.info) website, as well as this forum,
- there is a Parkour gym, Primal Fitness, that offers all sorts of classes to get started safely and efficiently (primal-fitness.com),
- there's regular gatherings to train on weekdays and usually a jam on the weekend,
- the next planned jam is this coming Wednesday in Silver Spring, and it's a great time to meet people right away!!

With regard to size, everyone has different body size, shape, strengths and weaknesses. Some things will be harder for you and some will be easier, same as everyone else, so no worries!!

Offline Rahontsiiostha

• Oryctolagus Cuniculus
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2009, 02:53:03 PM »
Awesome. I figured DC should already have some kind of Parkour community considering its size.

I will definitely be there on wednesday and might be able to bring my brother.

Thanks.

« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 05:46:44 AM by Rahontsiiostha »

Offline Jon Hurst

• Patas
  • cuerpo fuerte, mente sano
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2009, 04:04:43 PM »