Author Topic: UMCP gyms & Starting Strength  (Read 4722 times)

Offline Cameron Scott

• Patas
    • View Profile
UMCP gyms & Starting Strength
« on: July 27, 2009, 09:00:25 AM »
   I'm starting grad school at UMd College Park this Fall and have been learning Parkour this summer through the boot camps at Primal Fitness.  I'm about to finish the second boot camp and am beginning to build my own workout routine.  Up until now I've been looking at bodyweight or MN activities since I don't want to pay for a gym membership, but then I realized I'd probably have "free" access at UMD.
   Based on what I've read on multiple forum threads I'm considering adding Starting Strength to my plan and wondered if 1) the UMD facilities have freeweights that can be used for this (or if there are any requirements for use) and 2) if others in the College Parkour group are already doing this.  Since I've never done any wieghtlifting before I'd benefit from at least a few initial workouts with others to make sure I'm using proper form and such. 
   I plan to come to the Friday jams once the semester begins so can bounce these questions off others then, but figured I'd get a heads up now if possible. (I also joined the FB group, but figured this was a better place for these questions right now).

Offline Yixin (pronounced ee-shin)

• Patas
  • I am Yli
    • View Profile
Re: UMCP gyms & Starting Strength
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2009, 11:09:44 PM »
Yes, there are plenty of freeweights at UMCP, you can use them as long as the gym's open.

I'll try to find someone who knows how to lift to show you the proper technique.
"Madness.  (Sparta, etc.)"-Graham Hughes

Offline Zachary Cohn

• APK Alliance
  • Global Moderator
  • Hirundo Rustica
  • I do cool stuff.
    • View Profile
    • ZacCohn.com
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2009, 07:03:06 AM »
Work with some of the people at Primal while you're still going to learn the lifts, then when you start at UMCP you'll have a bit of a head start.