Author Topic: 2009 Jam Schedule  (Read 7444 times)

Offline Tony - Shinobi TXPK/EPPK

• Guenons
    • View Profile
    • El Paso Parkour
2009 Jam Schedule
« on: September 18, 2008, 11:27:15 AM »
Whats going on ladies and gents!

I wanted to find out if it would be possible for those of you planning jams/workshops for 2009 to post proposed dates.  For some of us, it's extremely difficult, if not impossible, to get the time off if we find out a couple of months ahead of time.  As a firefighter, I have to submit my leave for the entire year (2009) on December 15th of this year.  This will help in plotting out who wants what dates so traceurs don't have to decide between jams.  It will also help people save money earlier, get plane tickets cheaper, and make travel arrangements easier.
Obviously jams aren't always going to be plotted out a year in advance, but I figure if conventions and other workshops are handled like this, maybe some of us can do it too.

Thanks
Tony
« Last Edit: September 18, 2008, 06:30:05 PM by ShinobiFoF »
Check on the rep, yep, second to none!

Offline Alissa J. Bratz

• Hirundo Rustica
  • middle-aged man in mom's basement eating Fritos
    • View Profile
    • wisconsinparkour.com
Re: 2009 Jam Schedule
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2008, 01:43:58 PM »
You know, this is a great idea. It got me thinking, there are a couple of jams that are "always" on certain weekends (e.g. Beast Coast is always on Memorial Day weekend). I also know that, for instance Chicago tends to be in July, Colorado tends to be in August, etc.

Perhaps it might be a good idea, as a community, to establish some firmer norms around these tendencies, to help you out with scheduling, Tony (and also to help people plan their time and funds for the summer jam schedule). If there are communities out there that do a big jam every year, perhaps we should set up some "static" dates around when those jams have been traditionally held in the past.