January 07, 2009, 05:31:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
   Home   Help Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ParkourAtlanta.com warning  (Read 1163 times)
Max'BNP'Calder
Mangabey
****

Karma: +54/-18
Offline Offline

Posts: 489


BNP


View Profile WWW
« on: September 26, 2006, 08:00:38 PM »

look at this shit,

I was browsing apk, and I came across a member by the name of "parkouratl" and I thought I should pm him about our weekly sessions because he is new. Then I saw this little jem in his profile. http://www.parkouratlanta.com/
He is obviously new and has no knowledge what so ever about parkour. Plus he stole the traceur logo (speed air man) ( which is copyrighted)
I have no association with this site, so please do not blame me for this. I have no idea who this person even is. I will email him and ask him to take it down. I apologize in behalf of atlanta, and the veiws on this site do not represent the veiws of the real atlanta scene.


parkouratl: If you read this please take your site down, it is criminal. We have weekly sessions at centenial park, please come by and learn what parkour really is. We are also planning on making a legit site in the future. Also don't pretend to be a experienced traceur, you clearly are not. I don't even claim to be experienced, thats why Im putting off the site for a few years.
« Last Edit: October 04, 2006, 12:02:49 PM by BigNinjaPimp » Logged

Jonathan McCarver
Guenons
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 85


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 08:10:12 PM »

That is royally fucked up to the point of being confusing.

I am a web developer for a living and I don't understand how somene could figure out how to do that and be so uncreative at the same time.
Logged

I'm so unorigional
CyanideSoda
Puntastic
Mandrill
*****

Karma: +29/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 702


I didn't know you could put words here.


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2006, 08:25:53 PM »

Umm. I do believe that APK uses Joomla. So it's not really copyrighted. If i'm wrong i'm sorry. That's just what i thought. As for the logo he could be in trouble there. Also that sight was total shit. Someone needs to tell him the truth ASAP.
Logged



The ReTraining Logs of CyanideSoda
  Post constructive comments please.
Mark Toorock
M2
Administrator
Mandrill
*****

Karma: +251/-56
Offline Offline

Posts: 2178



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2006, 09:16:55 PM »

BNP Thanks for the heads up.

As for the site being based on Joomla, Joomla is free opensource software, so nice move ATL Parkour!

Now, about the disclaimer being copied word for word from APK ... Jesse if you did email me, this thread would be a great place to remind me, otherwise it does appear you just copied our materials at least to that extent.

As for other's making website which copy or use materials from APK, we're all for it. We're here to help spread awareness in Parkour and freerunning, so if you are setting up a site, let us know how we can help!! (and don't just copy our stuff, be more creative, make something better than APK!!)

Looking a bit deeper into ATL Parkour, some of their "quick Tips" need to get their facts (and spelling) straight.
One thing I will advise with a website is ONLY put what you know to be factual, or scientifically supportable. If you put materials beyond that, people will think you're just putting up whatever.
Logged

Be Useful.
If I don't try to make the world a better place, who will?
Every person has a choice - live by your fears or live by your dreams
Zeus
Mandrill
*****

Karma: +24/-8
Offline Offline

Posts: 600


Dont listen to Sat....Think with your balls


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2006, 06:51:04 AM »

It kinda looks like the site is a big ad for under armor and some seb quotes
Logged

Matthew Lee Willis
Mandrill
*****

Karma: +72/-66
Offline Offline

Posts: 1145



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2006, 06:59:52 AM »

M2 is Right, Joomla is a free "templet" that anyone can use.  Its actually really good software.  Although, the whole...copyright stuff is crap.  Sick em'.
Logged

Parkour:Phone Calls
Free Running::Text Messaging
Nick
Mangabey
****

Karma: +9/-7
Offline Offline

Posts: 286


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2006, 07:41:54 AM »

wow he even stole Gears first name.  This guy is such an underarmor slut its unbelievable, and theres a worrying looking item under the "Latest News" colum called "Build Muscle Without Even Trying".
Logged

"We aren't here right now to live forever, we'll live forever tomorow
The Boom Collective
Guenons
**

Karma: +6/-13
Offline Offline

Posts: 58


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2006, 09:01:31 AM »

LMAO!!! "underarmour slut" Thats fucking hilarious!
Logged
Max'BNP'Calder
Mangabey
****

Karma: +54/-18
Offline Offline

Posts: 489


BNP


View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2006, 09:20:39 AM »

He also advertises for the gigaride, which is a terrible shoe.
But what pisses me off is that he went and made a site without even meeting the atlanta parkour scene, a few of us have been around for a year now and this guy seems to have about a week's experience. He could have atleast asked us for our imput.


+ he stole speed air man,
« Last Edit: September 27, 2006, 09:40:48 AM by BigNinjaPimp » Logged

Zanadoo
Oryctolagus cuniculus
*

Karma: +3/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 21



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2006, 10:30:52 AM »

Whats bugging me out about this whole thing is a guy who is trying to set up a website for the Atlanta scene, which in and of itself isnt necessarily a bad thing. The problem lies in the fact that this guy doesn't know the atlanta scene, we train consistently every weekend and while lately we've been getting a few new faces I know his face was not one of them. Even if he was an experianced traceur, it doesn't matter, you can't have a local community website if you don't even know the local community.
Logged
Streetviper
Patas
***

Karma: +9/-9
Offline Offline

Posts: 196


View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 27, 2006, 02:36:07 PM »

i agree.
  i am not very expienced( only about two months or so) but i give it my all and anyone who is tring to represent the atl scene with knowing it is an idiot.
  i apologize to the atl guyts for not beibng down to the sessions i have had alot going on so i'll try to make it down more in nov
« Last Edit: September 30, 2006, 05:21:50 AM by streetviper » Logged

With out passion , effort is meaningless.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.5 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines LLC
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!